Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Teething

I can't wait to see those little pearly whites pop up in Olives mouth. Teething has thrown everything off. She went from sleeping through the night to getting up three times. Sleepy momma is not fun. She can't figure out how to put something in her mouth to help the teething quite yet so that isn't helping. My mom rubbed her gums yesterday and you would of thought she was getting a massage, she was so happy so at least I know that helps. I don't really know what to do or if I should do anything? The waking up all night sucks but I don't even know if there is a solution since I imagine this will pass right? Its hard to know what to do when she wakes up. I mean there is no way she is hungry every time she wakes up. I do feed her cause I really don't know what else to do and I don't want to deny her food if she actually wants it and of course it soothes her. It just sucks cause we were doing so good with sleep at night. It was so easy but everyone tells me teething throws it all out the window. Its also annoying cause she is about 4 months so I wanted to start a bit more of a routine with her but there is no way with teething. On a exciting note she took her first two hour nap today. It's the little things....


Monday, January 17, 2011

Summer in January

It was like summer here this weekend so we took advantage of it and had a really fun day. We started the day at the swap meet where we stocked up on veggies and fruit. Blake's mom got us a juicer for our anniversary so we're pretty hooked and buying everything and anything we can juice.

After that we headed to a new taco spot and got some lunch. We wandered around for a bit then finished the day off with some ice cream. Pretty simple day but really nice to spend time as a family. That night we celebrated our anniversary while Olive was being spoiled by the grandparents. We had a nice long dinner which is my favorite thing in the world. It was so nice to spend some alone time with Blake and eat some yummy food.

Sunday was filled with more food. I wonder why I can't lose all my baby weight, duh! My dad came down and we took him to our favorite dim sum place but we lagged due to a napping baby (ya she naps when Blake is home) so we missed dim sum so we made up for it and ordered way too much food. I get my foodie side from my dad. There isn't much we won't eat.

Today I drove up to the parents to spend the day with my mom. It was nice to get a break and catch up on some things that needed to be done. She is going to come down to stay for a few days this week so I can go to a bunch of much needed appointments. One of those being kickboxing. I'm doing this!

Saturday, January 15, 2011

January beach day

Blake got off work early so Olive and I watched him surf. She spent most of the time eating. I put her feet in the sand and she loved it. Can't wait till the summer when I'm sure she will be trying to eat the sand.
Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.5

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Happy Anniversary

Yay five years with the husband! Crazy to think the wedding was five years ago. I was looking back at photos and we both look so different. I wish we could go back and have our wedding again. It was such a wonderful day!


We are both so awkward in front of the camera.

Pretty cake and glasses...Broken glass. I wish I could recall how this happened....


The photobooth that saw too much. This poor thing saw so much butt, weiner, and boobs that night.
To celebrate we will be going out to dinner and hopefully having a fun filled weekend. Next year I'm thinking Hawaii!!!

Babies!!!!

After my hellish day yesterday I had some much needed friend time. Natalie and her kids came over today for a little visit. We sat on the floor, nursed the babies while we ate taco salad. How many friends can you do that with? Its fun to have a friend with a baby the same age and plus she is on baby number two so its good to see how she does things.




Olive was pretty much the same as yesterday, just a bit on the whiny side but it wasn't awful. She fell asleep on me after feeding and I let her sleep like that for an hour but then I though it would be a good time to try and sneak her into the crib. As soon as I put her down she screamed, not like a little cry but like full on belting it out. I tried to calm her and start all over but not a chance. So tomorrow I am going to swaddle her and try it like that. I had no idea trying to get a baby to nap would be this difficult. I'm glad she is sleeping on me but I would love to have that chance to get some stuff done.

I'm going out to dinner with a friend tonight. I think this is the first time I've actually left Blake with Olive while I go out. Wild me!

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

F you day

Watch out I'm gonna bitch, moan, and curse so if you don't want to hear it this is your warning. Nothing awful actually happened but it was seriously one of the longest days of my life. Things started off fine. Olive had a dr appt for a few vaccines. No biggie. So when I get there my dr tells me she has decided that after this week she is no longer going to do vaccines cause she just doesn't feel we need them. Ok totally get that cause I was torn in so many directions but since I decided to go with them (at my own pace) I feel like I was just cut off. I'm not mad at her but I really really like her and I kinda don't know what to do. So I need to see another dr to get her shots and then see her for a regular dr? That just sounds confusing and like a headache to me. She has also decided that she doesn't want to take any insurance. She was giving me a super bill and then I would submit to insurance which was a pain but not like a huge big deal but now she won't take anything. The way she explained it she will lower her fees so it will work out to be the same as if she did take insurance. I know its not a big deal but this is the second dr we've been to and its a nightmare trying to find a new dr who will go on a alternative schedule with the vaccines like I want. I love her holistic approach to medicine and I love how much time she spends with me and all the fun little tidbits of natural remedies she shares with me. I always feel excited when I leave there and I always get to sit and take my time and nurse Olive after shots. That is really rare. I'm just annoyed and one thing I didn't want to have to deal with. The whole vaccine thing has been such a headache. I feel like there is no definite research on anything so its like who do we trust, these companies that make the vaccines or some random people that do research that don't have a definite answer. I mean for all I know I am paying a shit ton of money to inject Olive with cat pee or something but then I think what if she gets one of these diseases and I was a shitty mom and didn't prevent it. Fuck being a mom is hard work. I'm just venting cause well I have no other outlet besides this blog. No one gives a fuck about you anymore when you have a baby, its all about Olive. I am so ok with that, just glad I have this blog.

So besides all this news at the dr all is well with Olive except she has a yeasty diaper rash. Fucking ewww. So she prescribed her some cream. Poor kid and her yeast. I don't think it bothers her but who knows. I noticed a rash a week or so ago but I didn't think too much of it. Negative mom points for not knowing it was anything. She weighs 14.4 pounds so she has just about doubled her birth weight. Crazy. She is in the 90% for weight. Little chunker. She was so crabby today (and actually yesterday) She hates when I leave the room or put her down. She goes into a full on meltdown. I don't know why she is doing this. Teething, pain, bratty, no idea. But if I hold her and talk to her she smiles and laughs like everything is fine. Is she just acting spoiled? My friend told me this happens with girls. I just keep thinking its me and I'm doing something wrong. Again she would not nap. I would put her down when she was sleeping and she would scream. So I gave in and let her fall asleep on my boob which she did for over an hour. I imagine she would of slept longer but I was going to pee myself. I have no idea what to do anymore. I feel like I'm failing somehow. I'm just so so fucking tired and in need of a break. I need to start kickboxing and getting away a few times for a break. Maybe that is awful to say but I need a break so bad. I don't even get on my computer all day which isn't a big deal but the fact is I still need to work. I'm $20,000 in debt and no one is going to pay those credit cards but me and without photography no bills will be payed. I now have credit card people calling me cause I am late on my payments. First time I have ever been late with payments. So if Olive doesn't nap I don't have time to go on my computer and email (beg people) for work.
I just needed to vent and now I feel better. Tomorrow will be a better day.

Monday, January 10, 2011

Photoshoot with Tamar

Here are a few of the photos that my friend Tamar shot of us. She is such an amazing photographer and I'm so happy we got to be part of the series!