I woke up and I can barely lift my coffee to my mouth, my arms are in serious pain from boxing yesterday. I decided it would be fun to try out a boxing class instead of my normal kickboxing. I had no idea it was going to be actual punching each other. I partnered up with some dude who was a little taller than me but probably 300 pounds. No joke. There were only a few girls in the class and they kinda scared me more than the guy I was with so I figured at least a guy would be gentle on me. He was sweet and we laughed more of the time but he also hit pretty hard. We switched back and forth punching hand and stomach pads so it was pretty brutal. I think the hand pads actually hurt more then getting punched in the stomach. After getting over the initial feeling of getting the wind knocked out it was funny and a really good workout. Next time I will wear like 3 sports bras cause my ladies were flapping all over the place and that was killing me most of all. I think I will wait a few more months to take that class again cause you really have to feel confident in all your punches and I'm so not there yet. Plus I don't know if my boobs can handle that again.
Olive is down for her second nap of the day. The first one was a bust and she only slept 30 min. The child hates to sleep so hopefully she will get the hang of it eventually. She is still waking up at night but last night she only got up once for a feeding and then 2 other times where I was able to shush her back to sleep. She still got up early (6:30) but its not that bad I guess. Her teeth don't seem to bother her now so maybe that is helping the sleep at night? Babies are funny little creatures, that's for sure.
I need to post some photos of Olive sitting. She is getting so good at it. She can sit for about a min on her own and you can see her getting stronger by the day. She has also been lifting her chest up really high. I call it the half crawl cause once her knees go up she will be off.
Blake just got back from surfing and brought me a guilt doughnut (he brings them when he leaves me to go surfing on the weekend) and I need both hands for this thing so I will leave you with this most adorable video of Olive watching Sierra play.
I heard Olive stirring at around 5 am and I knew it was the type of stirring where she was going to wake up which she eventually did. I tried to feed her but she was pissed cause she had a snotty nose. Sucking snot out of her screaming face that early isn't fun. I fed her and I thought just maybe she would like to go back to sleep. Instead she just laughed at me and blew spit. So we got up and played, did laundry, made breakfast, played some more and now she is napping. I want to do the same but I know as soon as I get cozy she will wake up. But at least I get to play on the computer a bit. On a good note its friday and that means the weekend!
I'm a photographer. I know shocking since most of my photos I post are crappy cell phone shots with shitty color correction. But people really pay me to shoot photos, I swear. When I was pregnant I had all these ideas of what I would shoot when Olive was born. So far I've done nothing. Its much easier to come up with a billion ideas in your head but to actually produce them is another story. I think now that Olive will look on command and sit in one place for awhile it will be easier to do something with her. I haven't quite nailed down my idea but I was playing around with composition today and also some lighting from last night (just crappy test photos) Just need to figure out how I will do what I want (hint hint husband, I need a cable release)
I've also been wanting to start a series on breastfeeding women. Along with shooting jobs I usually always have a "side project" that kinda keeps me motivated. Not that I have time but I'm hoping to start something soon. I just need to find some willing mamas which I imagine will be easy. My series always have something to do with what is going on in my life. The last one I worked on was people and their dogs. I love my pup so it was something pretty near and dear to me. It was probably my favorite series I've ever done and I met the most amazing people so I'm thinking its time to do something new.
Thursday is one of my favorite days because of the farmers market and food trucks at the Orange County Fairgrounds. Olive and I made an afternoon out of it and did a few laps around the farmers market then had some lunch.
Looking cute and bundled Olive slept and I enjoyed some pork buns. This is what we got. The hardest part is trying to come up with dinner cause I want to use everything. We practiced sitting up. She can sit without my help for awhile now but still sorta slumps over but is figuring out her balance and how to bring her body up.
The wind totally ruined my mommy date. Olive and I were supposed to go on a nice walk down at the beach with a mommy friend and her son but the wind is seriously nuts. My entire house keeps shaking. I don't mind the cold but the wind is gross. So instead we went to the market to get some goodies so we can make some chili and cornbread tonight. Seems appropriate for the weather.
The lady checking me out was pregnant and we were making small talk. She asked me a few questions about being a mom and then she asked about the birth. She was shocked when I told her it was great and that I did it all natural. Ya ya it hurt yada yada but it was a great experience and I would do it the exact same again but I ALWAYS tell people how wonderful birth is. Who the hell needs another horror story. So she goes on to tell me that she is so scared of birth because of the needle. Um me too. Fuck sticking a giant needle in my spine. I mean you are already having a baby come out of your vagina I think having a needle anywhere near the body is kinda nutty. So I just smiled and told her whatever she did she would be great but to just remember that her body was meant to do this. I have no judgment against people that get epidurals for some people it works and its great. Its just not for me. I may have another baby that shit will go wrong and I will need one and I am glad it will be there for me but if I don't need it then for me its better that way. I trust my body more than drugs but it makes me sad that the part she feared was the epidural and not the birth. Like you should worry about the birth part not the unnecessary needle right? Hopefully a little bit of my positive birth story will go a long way and she will hear more of that along the way.
Olive has been napping for over an hour and I've managed to get nothing but a load of laundry done. Oh I did order some more cloth diapers I've never tried this brand but the price was right so hopefully they are good.
A few randoms......
More cute clothes from Ashley
The view from my boob. MilkMy little gorilla.
Olive thinks Sierra is the coolest toy in the world. She will now stare are her and laugh and smile. Sierra thinks Olive is scary. She especially hates it when she spits at her. Yep Olive blows raspberries at her and she hates it. Nursing Olive when Sierra is in the room is now a problem. She has no interest in my boob, all she wants to do is stare at Sierra. She will occasionally try and touch her and Sierra squirms away. She has no aggression just acts like she is gross. I'm actually finding nursing to be difficult in more of a funny way because Olive is so distracted by anything around her. If Blake comes and sits down next to me she would rather smile and coo and him. Its cute but I also want to make sure she is getting enough to eat. Might be time to sit in a dark room with no distractions.
The little goofball is down for a nap. Finally. She has been fighting them pretty bad and usually only stays down for 45 min to an hour lately but I'm just letting her do her thing. I've been spending way too much time over analyzing everything and I need to stop. She is going to do what she does and that is that. Selfishly the break is nice when she does get a good nap in so hopefully some longer naps will come in time.
A few photos from the past few days.....
Out for a walk in the hood. I've been trying to do an afternoon walk each day. She loves to look around and it gives me a chance to catch up on some phone calls!
Trying to crawl Playtime in the crib Our usual floor time